Skip to main content

Sharing pictures and videos

Pictures and videos play a big part in connecting with friends, family and people who love the same things as you do. Getting positive reactions from others can make you feel great. Creating content which grows your following is a bonus too. 

However, it can be uncomfortable when you don’t get the reaction you anticipated. Once you’ve posted something online or shared it with a friend it can also be difficult to undo, especially when pictures and videos are kept and shared by others.

Creating content safely

  • Know your audience. Consider who can view your content and remember that it can be shared by anyone. How would you feel if it was made public or shared? It’s never okay for someone pressure you into sending or posting something.
  • Protect your online reputation. Pictures or videos you post online can stay on the internet for a very long time. Before you share any content, make sure you would be happy with people seeing it in the future.
  • Check for inappropriate, offensive or illegal content. It’s important that you don’t create or post content that is inappropriate, offensive or illegal. Taking and sharing nudes of yourself or other people under 18 is illegal. Learn more about this in our articles about sending nudes and non-consensual image sharing.
  • Get consent. If you’ve taken a picture or video of another person, get their permission before posting it online. Think about whether it could upset or embarrass them? Would you post it if it was a picture or video of you?
  • Privacy settings. You can decide what information you share, where you share it and who you share it with. Check your privacy settings on each app, so that you can make sure you’re in control. But remember, this doesn’t mean that others can’t share or screenshot your content.
Two girls taking a selfie on a bench in the park

Worried about something you've shared?

It’s never too late to get help if you’ve shared something online that you’re worried about. Whatever may have happened, you will not be in trouble and there are people that can help you.

If you are worried about something you’ve shared:

  1. Delete the picture or video. If you posted the picture or video on an app or website, log in and delete it. If someone else has shared it, ask them to take it down. If they won’t take it down, speak to a trusted adult like a family member or teacher.
  2. Report it. If someone else has posted the picture or video online, you can make a report to the website or app, to ask them to take it down. Find out more on how to make a report on social media platforms.
  3. If you are being bullied. If someone is sharing a picture or video to embarrass or upset you, talk to a trusted adult. You can also call Childline on 0800 1111 or chat with one of the counsellors online.
  4. Online blackmail. If someone is threatening to share your images and videos unless you do something for them, they are committing a criminal offence. You can report them to CEOP. Read our article on online blackmail for more information.
Did this article help you?

Please select an option

Thank you for your feedback

Need more help?

Report it

Click CEOP logo

If you are under 18, report online sexual abuse to one of our Child Protection Advisors at the CEOP Safety Centre.

Report now

If you're over 18, call 101 to speak to your local police. 

In an emergency

If you're ever in immediate harm or danger: 

  • Call the police on 999 straight away
  • Tell an adult you trust who will be able to support you through a difficult time

Talk to someone

Childline logo

Free, confidential support online and over the phone for young people under 19.

www.childline.org.uk

Call 0800 1111

The Mix logo

The Mix is a charity that provides free information and support for under 25s.

www.themix.org.uk

Use their crisis messenger by texting THEMIX to 85258.

See all help

Joining social media

Socialising online

Things to consider before you start connecting with others online.